Currently, there are 53 countries can get the 144-Hour Temporary Permit:

Austria, Belgium, Czech, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovak, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Monaco, Russia, the U.K., Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine, Serbia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Macedonia, Albania, Belarus, United States of America, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Chile, Australia, New Zealand, Republic of Korea, Japan, Singapore, Brunei, the United Arab Emirates, Qatar

An eligible passenger can transfer (entry or exit) via any of the following ports and stay within the administrative precincts of Shanghai Municipality, Jiangsu Province and Zhejiang Province for 144 hours.

The ports including:

Shanghai: Shanghai Pudong Airport (PVG), Shanghai Hongqiao Airport (SHA), Shanghai Port International Cruise Terminal, Shanghai Wusongkou International Cruise Terminal, Shanghai railway port

Jiangsu: Nanjing Lukou International Airport (NKG)

Zhejiang: Hangzhou Xiaoshan International Airport (HGH)

There are several dedicated lanes for applying the 144-Hour Temporary Entry Permit.

What do I need to show to the immigration officer?

1. Your own valid international travel document (valid for no less than 3 months)

2. Your air / vessel / train ticket to a third country (region) with confirmed date and seat within 144 hours upon arrival

3. Arrival / Departure cards (for temporary entry foreigners) filled out in detail.

You should be ready to answer questions raised by immigration officers.

Once confirmed by immigration officers, you will get this! And there you go.

Reminders

1. According to the 144-Hour Visa-Exemption Transit Policy, the destination of those international passengers applying for Temporary Entry Permit should be a third country (region).



2. During the stopover, passengers may travel in the administrative precincts of Shanghai Municipality, Jiangsu Province and Zhejiang Province, but they are not allowed to travel beyond these areas.

3. After confirming the qualification for 144-hour visa-exemption transit, the immigration inspection station will issue the foreign passenger a temporary entry permit. Then from 00:00 of the next day upon his / her arrival in China, he / she can stay in the administrative precincts of Shanghai Municipality, Jiangsu Province and Zhejiang Province without a Chinese visa for 144 hours.

4. Passengers applying for the 144-Hour Temporary Entry Permit are supposed to make hotel reservations beforehand and provide the specific booking information. If the accommodation is at a private residence, the detailed address and means of contact must be provided.

5. A foreign passenger who enters China under the policy should exit China within the approved duration of stay. If, due to force majeure or some other reasons, such a passenger needs to stay longer than 144 hours in the above three administrative precincts, or travel beyond the restricted administrative precincts, he should apply for relevant stay permit to the corresponding provincial or municipal exit and entry administrative bureaus.

6. If the immigration inspection station, when conducting departure procedures, discovers that the passenger has stayed beyond the approved duration of stay, he / she shall be subject to punitive measures according to relevant regulations stipulated in the Exit and Entry Administration Law of P.R.C. and that'll have a negative effect on your next application.